The Path of Democracy - Palais Schaumburg I
60th Anniversary: Federal Republic of Germany (1959-1969)


Sun 6.9.2009, 1 p.m., 2009-9-6T13:00 Palais Schaumburg

The Path of Democracy - Palais Schaumburg I

Stefan Litwin (Piano)
Soloists of the ensemble Musikfabrik

Piano works by Helmut Lachenmann, John Cage and Karlheinz Stockhausen
György Ligeti: »Poème symphonique« for 100 metronomes

Hundred Metronomes

The place where Konrad Adenauer once held his cabinet meetings is now the venue where concertgoers will take their seats. The view of the park all the way down to the Rhine can be enjoyed completely free from any pressure to take political decisions. The wild 60s are portrayed by Stefan Litwin at the piano with works by the »enfants terribles« Helmut Lachenmann, John Cage and Karlheinz Stockhausen. A performance typical of that era will fill the mangificent hall of Palais Schaumburg with unusual sounds: György Ligeti’s famous “Poème symphonique” will make 100 metronomes tick; from the rushing wave of sound to a gentle ticking to a halt, it is a bizarrely poetic sound experience.
Sponsored by the Federal government’s commissioner for culture and the media following a resolution of the Bundestag (parliament).
Stefan Litwin © Goetzinger

Stefan Litwin © Goetzinger

Activate Google+

2 clicks for more privacy. The button is only activated
when you click here.
Information: Only when you have clicked to activate the adjacent services will information be transferred to Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Decide how we are to transmit data.