Napoleonic Music


Sat 24.9.2016, 8 p.m., 2016-9-24T20:00 Beethovenhalle

Napoleonic Music

Pekka Kuusisto (Violin)
Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Sunnyi Melles (Recitation)
Michael Wendeberg (Conductor)
Pekka Kuusisto (Conductor)

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Konzert für Violine und Orchester D-Dur op. 61

Arnold Schönberg:
»Ode to Napoleon Buonaparte« for strings, piano and narrator, after a poem by Lord Byron op. 41, German translation

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Symphony no. 7 in A major, op. 92

In 1814 the poet and freedom-fighter Lord Byron wrote an ‘Ode’ to Napoleon‘s abdication. Later it moved Arnold Schoenberg to a musical manifesto that grappled with the state of the world in 1940. Faith in democracy and human dignity was no less inspirational to Schoenberg here than it was to Beethoven in the ‘Eroica’ and ‘Wellington‘s Victory’. This eloquent testament is framed by two Beethoven works: the Violin Concerto, performed by the versatile Finnish virtuoso Pekka Kuusisto, and the Seventh Symphony. Like the ‘Eroica’, the Seventh too leads back via convoluted and painful byways to Napoleon: the proceeds from its first performance in 1813 were donated to Austria‘s veterans from the Napoleonic Wars.

Additional Information:

"For 8 at 8" Non-bookable reserved seats for students.

Deutsche Welle Festival Concert.
Sponsored by Bechtle.

Pekka Kuusisto © Kaapo Kamu

Pekka Kuusisto © Kaapo Kamu

Beethoven: Symphonie Nr. 7 (iTunes)

Activate Google+

2 clicks for more privacy. The button is only activated
when you click here.
Information: Only when you have clicked to activate the adjacent services will information be transferred to Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Decide how we are to transmit data.