With deepest sentiment


Sun 24.9.2017, 8 p.m., 2017-9-24T20:00 Beethoven-Haus Bonn

With deepest sentiment

Quatuor Diotima
Yun-Peng Zhao (Violin)
Constance Ronzatti (Violin)
Franck Chevalier (Viola)
Pierre Morlet (Cello)

Luigi Nono:
‘Fragmente – Stille, An Diotima’

Ludwig van Beethoven:
String quartet no. 15 in A minor, op. 132 (‘Galitzin Quartet II’)


Quatuor Diotima has long been a familiar guest in the world’s great concert halls. Besides the classical repertoire, this fabulous French quartet also focuses on contemporary music. Its name consciously refers to Luigi Nono’s famous string quartet, ‘Fragments – Silence, To Diotima’. Premièred in Bad Godesberg, this piece is distinguished by lines of Hölderlin woven into the score and ‘islands of sound’ poised on the brink of imperceptibility. A quote from music history serves as its expression mark: ‘Mit innigster Empfindung’ (with deepest sentiment). The same words are prefixed to the ‘Heiliger Dankgesang’ from Beethoven’s String Quartet op. 132, making Nono’s work a response from afar to Beethoven’s masterpiece.

Quatuor Diotima © Verena Chen

Quatuor Diotima © Verena Chen

Beethoven: string quartet op. 132 (iTunes)

Activate Google+

2 clicks for more privacy. The button is only activated
when you click here.
Information: Only when you have clicked to activate the adjacent services will information be transferred to Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Decide how we are to transmit data.