Love Stories


Wed 5.10.2016, 8 p.m., 2016-10-5T20:00 Beethovenhalle

Love Stories

Katia und Marielle Labèque (Piano)
David Chalmin (Guitar, electronic, vocals)
Raphaël Séguinier (Percussion)
Gonzala Grau (Percussion)
Yaman Okur (Choreography)

Leonard Bernstein:
Symphonic Dances from the musical ‘West Side Story’, arranged for two pianos and percussion by Irwin Kostal

David Chalmin:
‘Star-Cross’d Lovers’ for two pianos, electric guitar, percussion and seven breakdancers (2015)

The legendary piano duo, the Labèque sisters, will fetch the starcrossed lovers of the musical, Tony and Maria, to the present day by playing a ‘hard-hitting’ new version of the Symphonic Dances from ‘West Side Story’. Classical music goes hip-hop, modern dance meets percussion and live electronics. The concert will end with a new piece by singer-songwriter David Chalmin, who has created a dazzling Shakespeare adaptation with the choreographer Yaman Okur from the Madonna team.

Additional Information:

"For 8 at 8" Non-bookable reserved seats for students.

Sponsored by Deutsche Post DHL Group.

Katia und Marielle Labèque © Umberto Nicoletti

Katia und Marielle Labèque © Umberto Nicoletti

Activate Google+

2 clicks for more privacy. The button is only activated
when you click here.
Information: Only when you have clicked to activate the adjacent services will information be transferred to Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Decide how we are to transmit data.