Minds of their Own


Fri 20.9.2013, 8 p.m., 2013-9-20T20:00 Stadtmuseum Siegburg

Minds of their Own


Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Pekka Kuusisto (Violin)
Lilli Maijala
Pieter Wispelwey (Cello)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart:
Divertimento for two violins, viola and cello in D major KV 136

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Quartet for two violins, viola and cello No. 11 in F minor op. 95 ("Quartetto serioso")

Benjamin Britten:
Quartet for two violins, viola and cello No. 2 in C major op. 36

In addition, the musicians will interpolate other short pieces.


It doesn’t often happen in the classical-music scene that successful soloists get together to form an ensemble. The result of such a collaboration is all the more interesting, the more independent and self-confident each of the musicians is. One international ensemble of performers with minds of their own performed for the first time at the Konzerthaus in Dortmund in September 2012. It comprised Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Pekka Kuusisto, Lilli Maijala and Pieter Wispelwey. September 2013 will see the debut of this “laboratory quartet” of outstanding musicians at the Beethovenfest Bonn.

Sponsored by the Kreissparkasse Köln.
quartet-lab © Chris Dodd

quartet-lab © Chris Dodd

Beethoven: string quartet op. 95 (iTunes)
Pekka Kuusisto Performs Bach's Partita in D minor for Solo Violin

Activate Google+

2 clicks for more privacy. The button is only activated
when you click here.
Information: Only when you have clicked to activate the adjacent services will information be transferred to Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Decide how we are to transmit data.