Magnum Opus


Tue 24.9.2013, 8 p.m., 2013-9-24T20:00 Beethovenhalle

Magnum Opus

David Fray (Piano)
Susanne Bernhard (Soprano)
Gerhild Romberger (Mezzo-soprano)
Andreas Schager (Tenor)
Franz-Josef Selig (Bass)
Bamberg Symphony Orchestra Chorus
Bamberg Symphony Orchestra
Jonathan Nott (Conductor)

Arnold Schönberg:
Concerto for piano and orchestra op. 42

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Symphony No. 9 in D minor op. 125

Magnum Opus

In the third concert of the residency of the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra, the Piano Concerto by Arnold Schoenberg, completed in Los Angeles in 1942, meets Beethoven’s magnum opus, his Ninth Symphony. The political link between the two works is obvious: the Ninth is a masterpiece with a variable reception history, and, not least during the Second World War, was misused for political purposes. Schoenberg’s Piano Concerto addresses the theme of the composer’s situation as an exile. Musically the colourful and expressive work is an example of how twelve-tone music need not be over-intellectual. It does though need high-calibre and intelligent performers: the young French pianist David Fray is precisely the man for the job.

Additional Information:

"For 8 at 8" Non-bookable reserved seats for students.

7.30 PM Concert introduction "All Ears for Half"

Concert as part of the residency of the Bamberg Symphony Orchestra.

Deutsche Welle Festival Concert.

Residency sponsored by the Kunststiftung NRW and the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of Polska Music programme.
David Fray © Paolo Roversi, VirginClassics

David Fray © Paolo Roversi, VirginClassics

Beethoven: Symphonie Nr. 9 (iTunes)
David Fray: Record Mozart's Concertos No. 22 & 25

Activate Google+

2 clicks for more privacy. The button is only activated
when you click here.
Information: Only when you have clicked to activate the adjacent services will information be transferred to Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Decide how we are to transmit data.