Open for the Future
Beethoven Symphonies 3


Fri 5.10.2012, 8 p.m., 2012-10-5T20:00 Beethovenhalle

Open for the Future

Philharmonia Orchestra London
Esa-Pekka Salonen (Conductor)

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Symphony No. 6 in F major op. 68 (»Pastorale«)

Joseph Phibbs:
Rivers to the Sea (Europe)

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Symphony No. 4 in B flat major op. 60

Open for the Future

The Philharmonia Orchestra was formed in 1945 mainly to make recordings, which indeed came to set standards. Soon however the Philharmonia Orchestra decided to enlarge its reputation in public concerts in the Royal Festival Hall in London and on numerous tours around the world. Open for the future – not least with a much-acclaimed interactive website entitled "The Sound Exchange" – the orchestra has, over the decades, premièred more than a hundred commissioned works, and this series is continued today with a work by Joseph Phibbs, to be premièred in summer 2012. It is framed by Beethoven's fourth and sixth symphonies.

Additional Information:

The events of the residency of the Philharmonia Orchestra can be booked together at a discount.
Subscription prices: € 390; 330; 270; 210; 150

"For 8 at 8" Non-bookable reserved seats for students.

5.30 pm
Concert Introduction "All Ears for Half"

This concert is part of the Residency of the Philharmonia Orchestra.
Deutsche Welle Festival Concert.

Esa-Pekka Salonen © Sonja Werner

Esa-Pekka Salonen © Sonja Werner

Beethoven: Symphonie No. 4 (iTunes)

Activate Google+

2 clicks for more privacy. The button is only activated
when you click here.
Information: Only when you have clicked to activate the adjacent services will information be transferred to Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Decide how we are to transmit data.