‘Dying in love, longing and sorrow’


Sat 23.9.2017, 8 p.m., 2017-9-23T20:00 Beethoven-Haus Bonn

‘Dying in love, longing and sorrow’

Novus String Quartet
Jaeyoung Kim (Violin)
Young-Uk Kim (Violin)
Seungwon Lee (Viola)
Woongwhee Moon (Cello)

Alban Berg:
‘Lyric Suite’ for string quartet

Ludwig van Beethoven:
String quartet no. 13 in B-flat major, op. 130 (‘Galitzin Quartet III’)

Ludwig van Beethoven:
‘Great Fugue’ for string quartet in B-flat major, op. 133


This quotation from Baudelaire is hidden in the final movement of Alban Berg’s ‘Lyric Suite’. We also hear, amidst a largely 12-note composition, a shadowy quotation of the ‘Liebestod’ motif from Wagner’s ‘Tristan und Isolde’. Step by step, Berg’s quartet unveils the story of his secret love affair with the wife of a Prague industrialist. A full 100 years earlier Prince Galitzin ordered some new quartets from Beethoven, who wrote them, as he himself put it, with ‘a new type of voice-leading’ and ‘a great deal of imagination’. His words applied to op. 130, whose excessive finale, the unruly ‘Grosse Fugue’, ultimately had to be extracted from the work and published with a separate opus number.

Novus String Quartet © Jin-ho Park

Novus String Quartet © Jin-ho Park

Activate Google+

2 clicks for more privacy. The button is only activated
when you click here.
Information: Only when you have clicked to activate the adjacent services will information be transferred to Facebook, Twitter or Google+. Decide how we are to transmit data.