Campus 2004

Invitee of the Orchestra Campus 2004 was the orchestra of the Central Conservatory of Music . The orchestra, which has considerably enlarged its repertoire during the past years, consists of the best students from this institute,
Under the direction of En Shao, Muhai Tang, Zuohuang Chen and Yu Feng the orchestra travelled to Switzerland, Italy, Great Britain, Germany, France, Belgium, Poland, the former Soviet Union and Hong Kong in 1986, 1987 and 1991. One of the most impressing experiences for the young musicians was a concert with Mstislav Rostropovich and Seiji Ozawa in September 2000 in Beijing.
The orchestra has made a series of critically acclaimed recordings of Chinese and Western works, including Rachmaninov’s Symphony No. 2, Richard Strauss’s “Don Juan” and Beethoven’s Symphony No. 9. 

Patron of the Orchestra Campus 2004 was the Federal Chancellor of the German Republic, Gerhard Schröder.

Campus Concert, 23.9.2004, Beethovenhalle
Wenchen Qin:
"Pilgrimage in May"
(world premiere, commissioned by Deutschen Welle)

Franz Liszt:
Piano Concert No. 1 E-flat Major

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Symphony No. 4 B-Major op. 60

Yong-yan Hu, Dirigent
Yundi Li, Klavier

Campus Workshop, 28.9.2004
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 E-Minor ("From the New World")

Peter Gülke, conductor

Concert Orchestra of the Conservatory of Music Beijing