Artists biographies
Igor Levit

Nominated for Gramophone’s Artist of the Year 2016, Igor Levit manifests his position as one of the most relevant pianists of his generation – as an artist ‘built to last’ (‘The Guardian’).

The 2016-17 season marks Igor Levit’s debuts with the Staatskapelle Dresden (Christian Thielemann), the Bavarian State Orchestra (Kirill Petrenko) and London Symphony Orchestra (Fabio Luisi) and reunites him amongst others with the Danish National Symphony Orchestra (Sondergard), NDR Elphilharmonie Orchestra (Thomas Hengelbrock), Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich (Lionel Bringuier) and San Francisco Symphony (Fabio Luisi).

Major recital debuts await in New York, Chicago, Boston as well as in Amsterdam and Lisbon. Also in recital, Igor Levit returns to the Lucerne Festival, Zurich’s Tonhalle, Laeiszhalle Hamburg and Cologne Philharmonie. The season will further see the start of full Beethoven sonata cycles at London’s Wigmore Hall and at the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels.

He will perform the trias of variation works, Bach’s ‘Goldberg Variations’, Beethoven’s ‘Diabelli Variations’ and Rzewski’s ‘The People United Will Never Be Defeated’, in his home town Hannover as well as in his adoptive home town at the Berlin Philharmonie. In October 2015, Sony Classical released Igor Levit’s third solo album for the label featuring all three variation works. The album has been voted Gramophone’s Instrumental Award winner 2016. Igor Levit’s debut disc of the five last Beethoven Sonatas also won different awards.

Born in Nizhni Nowgorod in 1987, Igor Levit at age eight moved with his family to Germany where he completed his piano studies at Hannover Academy of Music, Theatre and Media in 2009. Igor Levit has studied under the tutelage of Karl-Heinz Kämmerling, Matti Raekallio, Bernd Goetze, Lajos Rovatkay and Hans Leygraf. As youngest participant in 2005 Arthur Rubinstein Competition in Tel Aviv, Igor Levit won the Silver Prize, the Prize for Best Performer of Chamber Music, the Audience Favorite Prize and the Prize for Best Performer of Contemporary Music.